# Environmental Health Foundation of Canada

RR# 3 Auburn, Ontario N0M 1E0 Tel:(519) 482-3416 — Fax:(519) 482-7820

## **Seventh Annual Report**

for the

### **Canadian Institute of Public Health Inspectors**

Annual General Meeting July 2, 1996

I am pleased to present this report to the members of the C.I.P.H.I. on behalf of the Environmental Health Foundation of Canada (E.H.F.C.). The 7th annual meeting of the Foundation was held in Victoria September 27, 1995 during the CIPHI conference. A summary of the progress and activities of the EHFC since the last annual report follows.

Attached are both the Treasurer and Auditor's report for the period ending December 31, 1995.

The officers of the Foundation Board of Trustees currently are as follows:

Chair — Klaus Seeger Vice-Chair — Tim Roark Treasurer — Charlie Young Secretary — Dean Sargeant

#### Aboriginal Student Sponsorship— Environmental Health Programme

The Foundation's first major project has concluded successfully. Keith Smith, our sponsored First Nations student has completed all the requirements of the certification process and is now qualified as a Public Health Inspector. Funding and support was provided by the Indian and Inuit Health Careers Division of Health Canada and is gratefully acknowledged. Thank you to Tim Roark who coordinated the transfer of funds and Richard Taki who provided counselling for all other areas. Thanks also to Dean Sargeant and Peter Rogers who were instrumental in getting this project off the ground and in obtaining the funding for both the academic and the practicum portions.

Mr. Smith is currently employed with the Touchwood-Fils Hills-Qu'appelle Tribal Council. He is the first Certified Public Health Inspector (Environmental Health Officer) of Aboriginal descent sponsored through the Foundation.

The Foundation is hoping to repeat this project in the near future, pending funding.

#### **Bob Herbison Bursary**

Donations to the *Bob Herbison Bursary* are being received regularly and if the current rate of contributions continues the fund will have more than \$2000 before year end. Should other Branches wish to start a similar bursary please contact the Foundation for suggested guidelines and criteria.

Unfortunately Mr. Herbison passed away during 1995, therefore contributions to the Bursary will have even greater meaning. All donations are tax deductible when funds are received through the EHFC. The donation request to the *Bob Herbison Bursary* is not limited to the BCIT allumni and an invitation is extended to everyone.

#### Food Safety Temperature Symbols

Our Trade-mark applications have been approved by Industry Canada staff and are now in the "advertising" stage to determine if there are any objections. They have been published in the June 5th issue of the Trademarks Journal. Within 2 months of being advertised our application can be opposed by someone else.

Once our application passes the advertising stage we will be issued a Registration Certificate and a Notice of Allowance is given where upon we have to demonstrate how the trade-marks have been used. This stage costs another \$200 per application (we have four). Anyone who wishes to participate in the implementation of a strategy for using our food safety temperature symbols please contact me at 1-519-482-3416. The public awareness programme on what the food safety temperature symbols mean will not only increase awareness, but also raise the profile of the public health inspector/environmental health officer professional.

#### Donations to the EHFC

Funds for the operation of projects may be donated, bequested; given as a gift; or provided through a trust or an inheritance. Donations can also be directed for specified projects. All monies received are tax deductible and an official receipt will be issued. *Our charitable organization registration number is 0884387-19.* Please send your donation of \$50, \$70, \$100 or more to support projects of the Environmental Health Foundation of Canada to P.O. Box 5367, Station F, Ottawa, Ontario K2C 3J1.

### EHFC Board of Trustees

The members of the Board of Trustees for 1996 are:

Ms. Mary Beliveau Mr. Tim Roark (Vice-Chair)
Dr. Gerry Bonham Mr. Dean Sargeant (Secretary)
Mr. Bruce Fortin Mr. Klaus Seeger (Chair)
Mr. Michael Reid Mr. Charles Young (Treasurer)
Mr. Peter Rogers

If you are interested in becoming a committee member or Foundation Trustee on the Board, please contact Tim Roark or myself. Please refer to the EHFC pamphlet for further information about the Foundation.

Respectfully Submitted,

#### Original signed

Klaus Seeger Chair