Environmental Health Foundation of Canada

I am pleased to present this forth report to the Executive and Members of the C.I.P.H.I. on behalf of the Environmental Health Foundation of Canada. The 1992 Annual Meeting of the foundation was held in Winnipeg, Manitoba on July 15, 1992 in conjunction with the joint NEHA/CIPHI Educational Conference. The officer's of the foundation, who were elected for a two year term, in 1992, are unchanged and are as follows:

Chairman Tim Roark
Vice Chairman Klaus Seeger
Treasurer Charlie Young
Secretary Dean Sargeant

During the 1992 Annual Meeting, Mr. Peter Rogers, Senior Environmental Health Officer with Health and Welfare Canada in Winnipeg, was appointed as a member of the Board of Trustees. Mr. Rogers has been a key participant in initiating our major Aboriginal Canadian project.

The following update on our three projects is provided for your information.

1. Aboriginal Canadian Proposal

Our proposal to send two Aboriginal Canadians to B.C.I.T. to become Environmental Health Officers has received long awaited government approval. The foundation has now received confirmation from Health & Welfare Canada, Medical Service Branch, of their agreement to fund two aboriginal students for two years at a cost to Health & Welfare Canada of \$25,000.00 per year. Selection of the candidates and finalization of all the necessary details are in progress pending receipt of the funding. We are very excited about this project and hope we can expand it in future years to include candidates from all across Canada attending both B.C.I.T. and Ryerson.

2. Temperature Symbols

Our proposal for internationally accepted temperature symbols is progressing well but slowly. We have now received a review of our proposal by attorneys acting on behalf of the National Sanitation Foundation. The legal opinion was very detailed but quite positive. We must now proceed with development of our proposals including legal registration of our temperature symbols. The generous support of Dr. Nina McClelland, President of NSF and Mr. George Kupfer, Vice President of NSF are gratefully acknowledged.

3. Herbison Bursary

At the 1992 Annual Meeting of the foundation Mr. Richard Taki, President of the B.C. Branch, made a presentation of the Board of Trustees requesting the foundation's support for the establishment of a bursary. The bursary would be for a student in the Environmental Health Program at B.C.I.T. and would be named after Bob Herbison a very dedicated and long standing Life Member of the Institute. Approval was granted by the Board of Trustees and work on this project has just been started by the B.C. Branch Executive.

Attached for your consideration are copies of the Treasurer's and Auditor's Reports for the past year. Slowly but surely our funds are increasing. Hopefully growth of these funds will increase much faster in the future. The following is a list of the current Trustees of the foundation.

Dr. G. Bonham Mr. B. Fortin Mr. T. Gable Mr. T. Roark Mr. P. Rogers Mr. D. Sargeant Mr. K. Seeger Mr. D. Terry Dr. F. White Mr. C. Young

As always we welcome comments, suggestions and questions from members of the Institute. I should also indicate donations from members will be most appreciated and the appropriate tax receipt will be issued in return.

It is important that we plan ahead for the future and thus ensure a smooth transition as officers of the foundation change. It is for this reason I am confirming that I will be stepping down as Chairman effective the 1993 Annual Meeting of the foundation. As you are probably aware I am keenly interested in the foundation and its future. However, at present I just do not have the time nor energy necessary to dedicate to this very important position. If requested, I am certainly prepared to continue as a Trustee and help when and wherever I can. The Environmental Health Foundation of Canada has the potential to do a great deal of positive work in the field of Environmental Health in the years ahead. It is time for an energetic new Chairman to steer the ship for the coming years. Again, many thanks to the members of the National Executive for their ongoing support and the Trustees for their continuing efforts on behalf of the foundation.

Respectfully submitted,

Tim Roark Chairman

encl. 2